Self-help

The Universe and Hollywood

And mental procrastination

White Feather
Grab a Slice
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

Have you ever watched a movie that you are positive you have never seen before and then about seven-eighths of the way through the movie you suddenly realize that you have indeed seen it before?

That happened to me a few days ago. It was rather irritating. How could I watch through seven-eighths of the movie without remembering that I had seen it before? Was I quasi-comatose the first time I saw it? It was not that long ago that I saw it. Was there some sort of serious neuronal synapse failure going on in my noggin? Was Alzheimer’s rearing its ugly head? Did I somehow venture off into some other timeline? Have I watched too many movies to remember them all?

So yesterday evening I had had my fill of the internet and could not take anymore. So I decided to watch a movie. I searched for a movie that I had never seen before. I relaxed into my recliner and watched. Then, lo and behold, about two-thirds of the way through the movie I realized that I had seen it before.

It happened again!

Although it was rather disconcerting experiencing this, when the movie was over I realized that it may not be a noggin malfunction on my part. I decided that it was the Universe screwing around with me — a logical…

--

--