Fiction

The Weekly Beach Dance

It’s a group thing

White Feather
Grab a Slice
Published in
9 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Francesca had been trying to get her new boyfriend Chad to come with her to the weekly Beach Dance since they first got together but it was not easy.

“I don’t dance. I’m not comfortable. I don’t know how to dance. Dancing out of doors? Who are these people? Are they a bunch of hippies? I don’t have the right shoes…”

Francesca kept begging him to go and Chad starting running out of excuses. Then Chad made the mistake of inviting Francesca to go with him to a basketball game. Francesca hated basketball. The sound of all those tennis shoes squeaking on the floor drove her nuts.

It was perfect.

A huge smile erupted on Francesca’s face.

“You’ll go?”

“Yes, sweetie, I will. I’ll go with you to watch a bunch of grown men playing with a ball but I’ll only go under one condition. I’ll only go if you agree to come with me this weekend to the Beach Dance.”

Chad felt trapped, “Okay I’ll go but does it have to be this weekend?”

“Yes! This weekend is the full moon!”

It was not a beach facing the ocean but rather just the sandy shore along a small lake. As they drove to the lake Francesca explained to Chad what the weekly…

--

--