Source-(Pixabay)

Yearning For Purple

And getting impatient

Grab a Slice
Published in
3 min readMay 3, 2020

--

It got up to 94 degrees (Fahrenheit) the other day but the lilac bushes still have not begun blooming. Inspecting them on my walks, I can see that they still have another week or two before the flowers come. It seems they begin blooming later and later every year.

I’m afraid a new ice age is coming. After all, every ice age is preceded by a short period of global warming. It always gets warm before it gets cold and it always gets cold before it gets warm. That’s what my maternal grandfather used to say. At least that’s what I think he said. He spoke a foreign language that I was not fluent in so I’m not really sure.

Once, for eighteen years in a row I used to cut lilac bundles and put them in a vase on the kitchen counter for Mother’s Day. It’s one of the things I did for Mother’s Day to honor the mother of my daughter. She would look at them and say, “That’s nice,” then never look at them again.

I, on the other hand, would stick my nose into those lilac flowers and inhale very, very deeply every single time I passed by them. I’m such a girl. I eventually realized that I was really cutting those flowers for myself.

Once I became single I kept up the tradition for a few years. What can I say? I love the fragrance of lilac. It’s an olfactory signal letting my noggin neurons…

--

--