““Against “Against [X]””

Jess Brooks
Grabbag and Chills
Published in
1 min readNov 17, 2014

“When someone throws down the gauntlet against something as seemingly benign, necessary, or positively good as interpretation, happiness, exercise, or young-adult literature, who can resist taking a peek? Here lies a problem with “Against [X].” Its contrariness can seem contrived or ginned up for effect, aiming, with an excess of self-congratulation, for a outraged or scandalized response: Yes, folks, I’m dismissing happiness itself in a two-word title. Can you handle it?”

Admittedly, most of the references were beyond the scope of my education, but I am very familiar with the frustrating reading experience provided by the “Against X” essay and really enjoyed this conversation. Feeling secure in ignoring them from now on unless they are accompanied by some kind of endorsement (or about chairs).

--

--

Jess Brooks
Grabbag and Chills

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.