“I Wore a Bikini and Nothing Happened”

Jess Brooks
Grabbag and Chills
Published in
1 min readAug 9, 2014

“The reason these people do not want to see a fat body in a bikini is because traditionally, that garment is something a woman earns by proving herself attractive enough to exist. If fat women begin wearing them without shame or fear, what’s next? Will they have self-esteem? Will they demand respect? Then what will keep them in their proper place? How would conventionally attractive people judge them?”

I feel like there are a lot of things like this, where you can only do them once you have proven that you are legit enough to exist. Like, calling yourself a scientist.

Does it have to do with class? I think it might have to do with class…
(credit to JR)

FAQ

--

--

Jess Brooks
Grabbag and Chills

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.