From Teaching to Learning Design

Kristin S
Graccon Learning Solutions
3 min readMay 11, 2023

How My Experience as an Educator Shaped My Approach to Creating Student-Centered Learning Experiences

by Kristin Stephensen | Learning Designer

In recent weeks, I have collaborated with Graccon Learning Solutions to design a micro-credential exemplar, tailored for adult learners. As a former teacher, communicator, and video producer, this was my first experience in learning design. Although I had prior classroom experience, the biggest hurdle I faced was not being familiar with the learners I was designing for. In online learning design, we do not always receive feedback from the learners, especially if we design for an external stakeholder. However, I am accustomed to teaching in a school classroom for 36 hours per week, where I gain significant knowledge about students’ learning needs. This familiarity allows for the creation of high-quality teaching and learning materials that cater to diverse learners.

I have often regarded entering a classroom as stepping into a microcosm of society. The classroom comprises students with various abilities, ranging from those who are three years behind their age group to those who are significantly advanced. On top of this, there are students with cognitive disabilities and those struggling amidst social and economic disparities. In this light, whenever I design for school students, I always ask myself,

“How can I help learners achieve success?”

Success, of course, may differ for each learner. For some, success may mean attending an educational institution every day, while for others, it may mean enrolling in a university bridging program in year ten. However, it is difficult to design for learner success, if you don’t know their level of literacy and numeracy, cultural background or if they have any cognitive and or physical disabilities. Remarkably, once students have finished school, we often regard these diverse learners as adult learners.

Speaking generally, learning theories surrounding andragogy emphasise self-paced, independent learning, particularly in the online environment. However, adults are still diverse learners and thus I find myself staring at a blank storyboard whilst asking a similar question:

“How do we know our designs are successful?”

Working with Graham and Simon has been instrumental in my own learning journey, as they have emphasized the importance of taking a collaborative and iterative approach to learning design. Rather than diving directly into a storyboard, they have taken the time to engage with stakeholders, including clients, different business units, and internal learning design teams, to gain a better understanding of the learners we are designing for. By giving priority to this collaborative process, we can tailor our learning design to the specific needs of our learners, instead of making generic assumptions about adult learners.

Moreover, this approach has allowed us to identify evidence-based teaching and learning strategies that work specifically for these learners. By drawing on research and best practices in learning design, we can create experiences that deepen knowledge and help learners achieve success.

My teaching experience has shaped me into a learning designer who prioritizes the needs and preferences of learners. I believe that this approach resonates with the principles of Graccon Learning Solutions, and I am grateful for the support and guidance of Graham and Simon in refining my skills as a learning designer. Moving forward, I am excited to continue developing my expertise and creating impactful learning experiences for diverse adult learners.

--

--