I Know Why People Are Falling into the Grand Canyon

Angie Gibbons
Grace for Motherhood
5 min readJun 12, 2019

--

A call to return to common sense parenting.

You’ve all seen them, the kids that can’t listen, can’t stand still for a nanosecond, can’t follow the rules their parents scream down the grocery aisle.

“Don’t take one more step or I’ll….”

Those same kids have grown up and are falling into the Grand Canyon, for real.

When I first began reading news stories about the recent deaths at this and other picturesque locations, my first reaction was horror and sadness. Because I’m a nice human who cares about all life, even reckless ones.

But then I started to think about the absurdity. The news headlines made it sound like the Grand Canyon had just been discovered and people didn’t know what to do with it.

“How do we keep people from falling into such a giant hole?”

Well, it’s called common sense, and it should ideally stem from common sense parenting.

Photo by Alexandre Godreau on Unsplash

From Authoritarian to Permissive Parenting

Many of us that grew up in the 80s and 90s had authoritarian parents. They were the parents who said helpful things like “Do it because I said so!” or would take a belt to our backsides if we were heard more than seen.

--

--

Angie Gibbons
Grace for Motherhood

Get my practical guide to getting out of overwhelm at www.angiegibbons.com. I’m a writer, teacher, baby wave surfer, and mom to 3 in Hawaii.