Writers Blog

Gracie Davis
Gracie Davis
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2023

In class on Monday we talked about writing for social action and what that means. Writing for social action can mean something different for everyone, and there are a plethora of topics that can be written about from a social action perspective. In class we discussed that an issue is a social or civic problem is something that needs attention, or “solving”. We defined social and civic issues and discussed as a class what we thought the differences were between the two. All of these definitions and discussions will be helpful when writing and doing research for the Medium feature assignment. For my medium feature assignment, I want to focus on social media, specifically the influencing side of social media. As someone who is an influencer myself, I know a lot about the behind the scenes and what exactly it takes to succeed in that field of work. I also feel like there is a lot of controversy that revolves around influencing, and there are both social and civic issues that need to be dealt with in the influencing world.

In class on Wednesday, we discussed multimodality and how we should be using it in our writing. Behind any media should be purpose, interaction and placement. These are crucial to help elaborate and influence how people read and interact with sites on the web. We also talked about copyright rules and Fair Use. This is so important, and I don’t think many people understand exactly how copyright rules work. Without following these rules, legal action could be taken. I feel like copyright and fair use rules should be taught more to children in school, so they understand as they are growing up.

--

--

Gracie Davis
Gracie Davis

Hi, I'm Gracie! I'm a 22 year old from Mooresville, NC. I am a senior at HPU studying Social Media Marketing and Digital Communications.