Writers Blog

Gracie Davis
Gracie Davis
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2023

We didn’t have class on Monday, but coming back on Wednesday we focused on how information is used and learned about the BEAM method. The BEAM method consists of background, exhibit, argument and method. This was interesting to learn about and something that I could see myself using throughout the rest of college and even into the workforce. We also read an article about marriage and were asked to label the hyperlinks using the BEAM method. This was so helpful to be able to differentiate the reasoning for each fact and link. We did this with our group members! Although only one of my group members was there on Wednesday, we were able to get to know each other better through the group work. I’m excited to continue working together with my group members and get to know them better. We also thought about what was needed for our short feature, specifically regarding being responsive and applying what we learned in the misinformation unit to our feature.

In class on Friday we practiced content structure organizing and it was a really helpful technique! This is also something that I can see myself using in the future. We learned how to create a descriptive outline and practiced doing our own with an article about Black beauty products. We used a descriptive outline template to summarize what each paragraph says and does. This was a good way to break the story up and really understand what we were reading. It was pretty easy and quick to summarize each paragraph after reading. Descriptive outlining will help in our short feature to check organization and structure, and to understand the purpose of each paragraph.

--

--

Gracie Davis
Gracie Davis

Hi, I'm Gracie! I'm a 22 year old from Mooresville, NC. I am a senior at HPU studying Social Media Marketing and Digital Communications.