Writers Blog

Gracie Davis
Gracie Davis
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2023

This weeks content was a bit different than what we’ve been talking about, but it was very interesting and I can’t wait to keep learning more! We were introduced to SIFT, something I’ve never heard of but a skill that is very valuable when looking for information online. The SIFT method — Stop, Investigate, Find, Trade — helps to reconstruct the necessary context to evaluate digital content effectively. In our in-class free write on Wednesday, I talked about how this method can be helpful in many different ways, but a key use for the SIFT method is when you’re looking for information online about a topic for a school assignment. Asking yourself if you trust the website or source is important when doing research because you want the information to be accurate. I already started using the SIFT method for a history research paper, and will continue to use it for many things to fact-find and check information. We also started choosing and researching our topics and I’m going to do social media/influencing on social media! I’m excited because this is something I’m passionate about and I can’t wait to learn more.

On Friday in class, we talked about False News and how it spreads. On the internet and social media, it’s SO easy for anyone to spread misinformation. I see it all the time on TikTok and Twitter. This helps to further prove how important it is to fact check and investigate the sources you’re using online. It’s important to find a source that puts the information out exactly how it is and doesn’t try to form an opinion or explain what the publisher thinks. In class, we have also been talking about Wikipedia. I never thought Wikipedia was a reliable source because of what I’ve been told by previous teachers, but after learning that it is reliable and the articles have to be fact checked to be published, I have started using it more for class and other research! (I actually used a Wikipedia page for the history research paper I previously mentioned!) It’s important to still use the SIFT method to check any website or article before using the content on it, but now that I’m aware and familiar with it I’ll be using it for all of my research from here on out!

--

--

Gracie Davis
Gracie Davis

Hi, I'm Gracie! I'm a 22 year old from Mooresville, NC. I am a senior at HPU studying Social Media Marketing and Digital Communications.