Day 4

Cathy Brooks
Gracious Gratitude
Published in
2 min readJun 12, 2020

Job

What will be of interest to me, I think, is what word readers think sits as the subtitle for today’s Day 4 entry.

Is it:

job

noun

a piece of work, especially a specific task done as part of the routine of one’s occupation or for an agreed price: She gave him the job of mowing the lawn.

a post of employment; full-time or part-time position: She was seeking a job as an editor.

or

Job — as in the Biblical guy whose life, well, it was pretty lousy. God tested him -over and over and over. No matter what happened, he never lost faith, he persevered. The patience of Job.

It occurred to me today, as I found myself saturated with stress about something that shouldn’t have even moved the needle, that I’ve allowed myself to become so utterly absorbed with the tedium of the job that I had allowed myself to forget the bigger picture. The mission.

And so I was thinking of it as just a plain old job. Rather than remembering that I must be patient, like Job, because my life work must prevail.

Good stuff.

Today’s Gracious Gratitude. I am grateful for:

  • Memories
  • My dogs
  • Going to bed early
  • Realizing the errors I made and being ready to rectify them
  • Sleep
  • My bed
  • Seeing films made by friends

--

--

Cathy Brooks
Gracious Gratitude

Raconteur and Silicon Valley expat who’s gone to the dogs … literally. Read more here https://www.linkedin.com/public-profile/in/cathybrooks