Day 8

Cathy Brooks
Gracious Gratitude
Published in
2 min readJun 16, 2020

Dam(n)

Did a thing today. Kayaked from the base of Hoover Dam down the Colorado River. About 12 miles. I can’t feel my arms and am pretty sure tomorrow I will feel them…a lot.

Physical strain notwithstanding, it was a day filled with many things — gorgeous views, fresh air, hot springs, laughter, and most of all that magic that comes from spending time with a dear friend.

It’s rare when you can spend hours with someone in silence. Just reveling in the marvels of nature. Just being.

What a gift.

Today’s Gracious Gratitude. I am grateful for:

  • A day of grueling and gratifying physical challenge
  • Fresh air
  • The marvels of Hoover Dam
  • Nature
  • My dear pal Donato Cabrera
  • Hot showers
  • How my dogs greet me when I’ve been gi

--

--

Cathy Brooks
Gracious Gratitude

Raconteur and Silicon Valley expat who’s gone to the dogs … literally. Read more here https://www.linkedin.com/public-profile/in/cathybrooks