#SundayBliss on #GraciousGratitude — Day 124

Gracious Gratitude — Day 124

Cathy Brooks
Gracious Gratitude
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2017

--

1–2–3

Not sure why I found the day count of today’s #GraciousGratitude list so amusing, but I did. Though it’s not quite the harmonious synchronicity of day #100 falling on Thanksgiving, there is something interesting to me about how today’s number is, in a way, a beginning.

Lately my dreams have been pretty intense and incredibly informative. One dream the other night was that half of the planet was gone. And I don’t mean that the populations had disappeared or anything like that. I mean that, literally, half of the physical globe was gone. Our little blue and green marble, that planet shown so many years ago to be round was now, well, kind of flat.

We knew that the halving was going to happen, and so there was this mass exercise of moving all living creatures from the soon to be disappeared portion onto the part that was to remain.

Talk about herding cats … and tigers … and everything else for that matter.

There was this immense sense of challenge but strangely no fear. In fact, it was the opposite. It was exhilerating. This opportunity for diametrically opposed cultures to be forced into a situation where we either all figured out how to do it together … or we’d all perish. It was pretty awesome.

So was today. Granted, I didn’t get to do more than skim front pages of my beloved Sunday The New York Times for #SundayBliss, but the rest of the day was so magical that didn’t really matter. Besides, I saved all the more evergreen stuff and will have something on which to snack after work tomorrow.

But now it’s time for bed, and before I go, had to share today’s list:

  • The opportunity to go to a Vegas Golden Knights game and see them WIN!
  • Having the morning go completely off the rails (aka counter to my pre-existing plan) and realizing that it was exactly perfect the way it was
  • Spending much of the day baking, reveling in the wafting aroma of cookies weaving into the olefactory threads of burning fireplaces, fresh air and autumn-scented candles
  • Realizing that my motivation for something was, perhaps, less than authentic …
  • One of those moments when I can feel someone’s presence as if they’re standing right there, even though they’ve been gone for a long time
  • Sassy friends who make me laugh — in general and, more importantly, at myself
  • Looking at a pile of wrapping paper, ribbons and fun gifts and feeling so grateful that a) I am so blessed to have such wonderful people in my life and b) that I am able to let them know in at least a small way that they are important to me
  • Bacon
AWESOME night! So #Grateful to be able to go to a #VegasGoldenKnights Game AND enjoy it with my pal jen consalvo

--

--

Cathy Brooks
Gracious Gratitude

Raconteur and Silicon Valley expat who’s gone to the dogs … literally. Read more here https://www.linkedin.com/public-profile/in/cathybrooks