8 Books I Wish I Read Before I Accepted My First Job Offer

Read these books before signing your job contract

Banji Alo
Career Digest
Published in
6 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

It’s beautiful when offered a job straight out of college. You begin to imagine everything you want to do with the money you earn when you finally start collecting your paycheck.

You want to get the nicest of things for yourself and show the world you can achieve great things and have what it takes to be successful.

You can finally start dreaming of getting yourself a nice fancy car, taking up a mortgage, stocking up your wardrobe with wears you have always dreamt of owning; you also probably imagined taking your relationship to the next level.

You forget this is a new job; you still have to prove to your new manager that you are worth the investment and risk. You have to show the organisation that you can add value.

Then, you start the job and realise the office game is different. You find yourself fighting for attention from your boss and co-workers. You find that perhaps you want more money because your paycheck is no longer sufficient due to your affluent lifestyle. I know because I felt the same way when I landed my first job after college.

Looking back now, I realise that I probably should have read some books on self-development…

--

--

Banji Alo
Career Digest

Data Scientist • Career Advisor • Author • FREE Data Career Welcome Kit — https://start.banjialo.com