Sample E-mail Template to Professors for Graduate School Research

Faisal Riyad
GradBunker
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2021

E-mail Subject: Prospective PhD Applicant Fall/Spring 2020

Dear Professor Last Name/ Dr. Last Name,

Good day to you. I am writing to express my interest for doing PhD under your supervision. I am interested to work with you on understanding the failure mechanism of ceramics materials under extreme temperature and pressure. I am well experienced with ceramic and polymer materials, and hopefully I will be a good fit in your group.

Here is a brief summary about my research skills and experiences:

Materials Synthesis: Name the system of materials you can synthesized
Material Testing: Put the Keywords
Material Characterization: Put the Keywords
Mathematical/Theoretical Modelling Experience: mention (if any)
Computational Skills: MATLAB, Python (or name any that you know)

I have contributed to XX publications , have X patent (granted and published) and gave several oral presentations in different international conferences. I have completed my M.Sc from University of X in Fall 2018 (CGPA 3.XX out of 4.0) and B.Sc in Mechanical Engineering from University of Y (CGPA 3.XX out of 4.0) in 2012.

Please find the attached copy of my CV and a brief summary about my research work. I would be grateful to you if you allow me to work with you for my PhD.

Thanks,

Your Name
Google Scholar Profile

--

--