Get GeoLocation API

Penny Pang
Graduation Thesis 2019
2 min readOct 31, 2019

I needed to get the coordinates of the user so I was recommended to use MDN Geolocation API that gets me the coordinates of where I am from my server.

It is actually very simple but I will be coding it in React.js so there’s a little change in the code from the MDN doc.

Within the Class Component write a method getGeolocation() .Within the function, we want to know if the browser supports this geolocation API or not. We are going to do that we are going to write an if state

How to return coordinates?

From the MDN doc, you can simply use the getCurrentPosition()

This initiates an asynchronous request to detect the user’s position, and queries the positioning hardware to get up-to-date information

In other word, getCurrentPosition() will detect the user’s position.

You can view your position in your console to check your coordinates

Render the coordinates on web

Now that your coordinates are showing in your console, you want it to show up on the actual web page (UI). Depending on where you want it to show up, let’s create a paragraph <p>show my coordinates</p> tag as a placeholder.

Step 1: set the initial state in your Class Component where you have your getGeoLocation() method

I have set my state location as null meaning that my initial location state will not have a data yet

Step 2: change the initial state by storing the coordinates data. In the getGeoLocation() method, put this.setState({}) after console.log(latlng)

Step 3: Render out the location in the Class Component render se

location = { this.state.location }

Step 4: Update your <p> paragraph tag by passing in the props

--

--

Penny Pang
Graduation Thesis 2019

Full-time UX/UI Designer, Part-time online entrepreneur, Casual food blogger and innovation advocate