Aw, Shucks

Flattery will get you everywhere

James Garside
graffiti living

--

People say nice things about me and about my writing.

When someone says something nice about me, I’m utterly baffled.

Even if I like, admire or respect the person.

ESPECIALLY if I like, admire or respect the person.

That says more about them than it does about me.

Even more so if people know me in real life: they should know better.

This says more about me than it does about them.

James Garside is an independent journalist and writer. You can follow him on Medium, join him on Patreon, and chat with him on Twitter. Sign up for his newsletter if you enjoyed reading and want more.

--

--

James Garside
graffiti living

Freelance journalist, author, and travel writer. I help writers and artists to do their best work. Let's be part of each other's stories. jamesgarside.net/links