The It of Your Isness

What is the essence of you that is bursting to be shared with the world?

Holly McCann
Grail Leadership
6 min readMay 14, 2024

--

Photo by Let’s go Together on Unsplash

Can you feel it? There is a palpable shift in the air.

Whether you chalk it up to astrology, the New Moon, the eclipse sandwich we just moved through, solar flares, or any of a million possible reasons, we are all being called deeper into our purpose. Called to show up more fully, authentically and unapologetically. Called to own our essential genius and share our innate gifts and wisdom with the world.

Whether you’ve been on this heroic journey for many years or you’re newly emerging from a life half-lived, the message is clear:

It’s time… Do it… Share it… Express it… Be it… Now.

What is “It”?

What is the “It” in this cosmic memo that’s streaming across the planet? It’s your own Wholly Grail, your deepest desires, your greatest passions, your witchiest magic, your unique medicine. “It” is the very essence of the most authentic You you can possibly access right now.

“It” is done hiding behind sedimentary layers of shame, guilt, insecurity, doubt, unworthiness, too-muchness, the Witch Wound, the Mother Wound, the Wounds of Leadership, or any of the other very “real” ~ and yet very untrue ~ stories we have taken on about ourselves.

To be clear ~ those stories have served an incredibly important purpose, but we are done with them now. They have reached their expiration date. We are now in the process of seeing and appreciating them as we slough them off, alchemizing and integrating the gold produced from them.\

Something has shifted irrevocably

I have watched this energy building within me for years ~ taking on more clarity and form as my own Original Intention has been emerging from the depths of my being. But never have I felt it so strongly, so compellingly.

Something has shifted irrevocably within me. I am no longer trudging through the many initiations and threshold crossings trying to unpack and embody my true nature, continually cleaning the smoky mirror to see and express my deepest wisdom and innate gifts.

Of course, I’ll never be done honing, refining, or expanding as I evolve ~ but now there is an abiding sense of solidity and stability as I find myself living 99.9% of the time from that centered, embodied place of “isness.” I simply am It. I can’t not be It. I have fallen madly in love with, in awe and deep appreciation for, the “Itness” of Me.

There is a settled, peaceful quality to this Itness. I am living in the paradox of both unabashedly owning my It and feeling the genuine humility that comes with knowing that everyone has It and that every person’s It is equally yet uniquely special.

This Itness is rooted in a whole different paradigm of Abundance. I spent a lifetime {likely many lifetimes} in the old paradigm of Separation & Scarcity ~ trying to work hard enough to be deserving of It and to prove that I am worthy of It, while at the same time apologizing or trying to hide It so as not to make others feel less-than or take away from their It.

Now I know that my being, giving and receiving from It in no way imposes on or diminishes anyone else’s It.

In fact, the whole world is designed to work in brilliant harmony as everyone expresses their individual It ~ belting out the notes of their unique soul song, which can only ever be sung by the one instrument who was designed specifically to sing It.

Release the genie from the bottle

Now that It has been deeply seen, loved, appreciated and embodied, It won’t stop poking and prodding me ~ like a genie banging on the walls of the bottle and demanding to be released so It can share its magic with the world.

For weeks, I have been in intense curiosity and exploration with this one question:

How can I share my genius in a way that best serves?

How can I share It more widely, more deeply, more clearly, with those who are a greatest match for It at this time?

My left brain has been trying to find the “right” approach ~ telling me I need to map out all the possibilities, put them in a logical order, overhaul my website, create a clear path of courses and other offerings, write more blog posts, record more podcast episodes, post more on social media.

But ~ even with all this “It” chomping at the bit to be out there and all the many things I can see to do to “make that happen” ~ my attention and energy has continually come back to a slower and less “productive” pace, to what feels most alive for me in the moment, to more fun, to more hikes in nature, to deep conversations with close friends, to reveling in the beauty of wildflowers and the bursting of life that is Spring in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

And I’ve let her {my resurrected feminine} take the lead, even while seeing and feeling the echoes of old impatient habits of thought: FFS, come on!Focus, buckle down, do the work, get this “It” out there!

It knows the way

So this morning, I headed out to one of my favorite coffee shops, intending to sit down and, in the energy of the sheer joy of creating, map out all the many aspects of “It” I am so excited to share and to get clear on next steps.

I love mapping, seeing how all the many pieces flow together and amplify each other. And this seemed like the best way to engage and indulge both sides of my brain ~ both my masculine and feminine aspects.

As I began to tune in and journal, and with the help of a few synchronistic messages that came into my field just then, I suddenly was lit up with a fire that had me grabbing my laptop and spontaneously writing three blog posts in a row ~ expressing all that was coming through me right then. {Mind you, I have been in a writing slump for months!}

I watched my left brain have a moment of inner eye-rolling { Seriously? Today was the day we were going to get this all mapped out!} ~ and then quickly hop on board { You’re right ~ this is way more fun!}.

I smiled as it became so clear… Oh right, I am living from the Wholly Grail of “It” now.

I don’t need to wait until I have it all figured out, logically mapped out, my website perfectly updated and in order, the work being done, the courses and other offerings all set up and ready to go. I simply need to follow the stream of energy that is powerfully moving through me right now.

As I reside more in the space of what brings me joy {not to be confused with gratification}, of what truly has me feeling most alive, my energy does the talking, showing me the best next step in ways my linear mind could not conjure up on its own.

This is where true productivity lies. As my unique essence radiates out clearly, it powerfully attracts in all that is most aligned for me. From this space, the “work” that I do feels less like “being productive” and more like aligned, inspired, impactful action.

The message is clear

I began this post by sharing the clear message that’s been coming through me and so many others: “It’s time… Do it… Share it… Express it… Be it… Now.”

It strikes me that this potent message contains within it the answers to the questions of “What?”, “When” and “How?”

It seems the best way to Do It, Share It, and Express It … is to simply Be It… Now.

As we tune in to whatever desire is authentically and joyfully arising within us ~ and refrain from overriding it with our overlay of fears, doubts, or control ~ It shows us what is most being called for in every present moment.

And right now, It wants to shine….

So… what is It that is bursting at the seams, so ready to radiate from the Isness of You?

Leave a comment below to share It!

With so much love & appreciation for you and your big beautiful heart!
Holly

--

--

Holly McCann
Grail Leadership

Founder & Vision Keeper of Grail Leadership, helping pioneering leaders and their businesses fulfill their mission and thrive in alignment with Nature.