How to write Formal Letter

Square Education Institute
Grammar & Writing
Published in
2 min readMay 2, 2018
  1. What are Formal Letter ?
    Formal letters are letter written for formal purpose such as application, complaint, recommendation and so on. Make sure your writing is clear and concise. Be courteous even if your letter has to exhibit anger or disaffirmation towards something.
  2. How to write a subject in Formal Letters?
    -
    Leave for a week.
    - Issuing Duplicate Mark Sheet.
    - Submission of original documents.
    - Supply of books or sports equipments.
    - Parcel lost in transmit.
    - Complaint of negligence by postman of our area.
    - Nuisance of beggars or pollution.
    - Poor condition of historical monuments.
    - Provision for street lights on the main road.
    - Poor maintenance of public park.
    - Inadequate supply of electricity or water.
    - Application for the post of …………………..
    - Complaining about rude or irresponsible behaviour of drivers or conductor.
  3. How to begin Formal Letter?
    -
    I the responsible student studying in std …….. in your school writing this letter to inform you that ……………..
    - Today, we have received the parcel of books sent by you. We are happy to received all the books ordered by us.
    - You are requested to supply the following things at the rate mentioned by you in your quotation dated ……..
    - This is to bring to your kind notice ………………
    - We regret very much to say that in spite of our repeated requests we have not yet received …………………..
    - With due apologies, I want to state that due to some unforeseen financial difficulties, I am not in a position to pay you ……………….
    - I shall be thankful if you publish this letter in the columns of your esteemed newspaper. I would like to draw the attention of local authorities towards the ………
    - I hope you will not mind my writing to you about ………….…..
    - I regret to bring to your kind notice that ……………..……
    - I beg to draw your kind attention to the ……………………….
  4. How to end a Formal Letter?
    -
    Kindly grant me a leave for a …………… Sorry For inconvenience.
    - I shall be grateful if you could issue me……………
    - I am in need of a ………… I request you to issue the same at the earliest.
    - I would like to assure you that I’ll perform my duties to the best of my abilities and will always try to meet your expectations.
    - I look forward to a favourable response.
    - I want to assure you, that you will never feel disappointed with my work and attitude.
    - I’ll be obliged if you kindly check the reason for this delay and take necessary measures to rectify it.
    - I hope you will take steps to improve …………….
    - We shall take all the necessary measures to avoid the recurrence of such mistake in future.

FORMAT OF FORMAL LETTER

Sender’s Address
……………………
…………………… (The Heading)
Dist: ………………..
Date: ……………..

Receiver’s Address
……………………
…………………… (The Heading)
Dist: ………………..

Subject : ……………………. ( Subject for Formal Letter )

Respected Sir/Madam, (The Salutation)

First Paragraph (Introduction)
………………………………………………………………………………………
………………………………………………………………………………………

Second Paragraph (Main Content of the Letter)
………………………………………………………………………………………
………………………………………………………………………………………

Third Paragraph (Conclusion)
………………………………………………………………………………………
………………………………………………………………………………………

Yours loving son, (The Complimentary Close)
Jonathan (The Signature)

Get the complete understanding on How to Write Letter

--

--