Climate Change and Climate Dread — Padlet

Molly Huber
Grand Challenges in Education
1 min readJan 22, 2019

My padlet lesson is about the article titled, In Washington State, Volunteers Scientists Study Flowers to Battle Climate Dread. After reading the article, I was interested in teaching younger students about climate change and how it effects our environment today. The human species plays a great role in polluting the environment, and I want to make students aware of this. Considering I am going to be an Elementary Teacher, I thought that incorporating Dr. Seuss’s book/movie “The Lorax” would be a very engaging and interesting lesson to start/end the lesson off with. The character, the Lorax, is a character who cares about the environment’s pollution and wants all living species to be taking in clean air, versus pollution. The Lorax “speaks for the trees!” I think this is a great way to introduce how the climate continues to change due to human affects. I would then follow up with a quick climate lesson along with a discussion on what we can do to help save our environment!

--

--