Japan Shocked by Natural Disaster

Kayla Adair
Grand Challenges in Education
2 min readOct 3, 2018

The article I chose for this lesson is, “Japan rocked by 2 earthquakes after typhoon,” by Nicole Darrah. This article is about that Japan had two earthquakes at a magnitude of 6.6 and 5.3 that his in Tomakomai. What caused the typhoon was the earthquakes. It is important for students know about this article because, I want them to know that these natural disasters are happening on other parts of the world and not just here in the United States. The other reason why I think this article is important is because the students should know how earthquakes and typhoons occur.

There will be so many different questions that students may have. For example: What does magnitude mean? Where is Japan located? What is a typhoon? What is a earthquake? How does a typhoon occur?

Activities I would use for this lesson would be, a word sort and journaling. A word sort would be a great idea for this lesson because, students will be learning about different terms that will realate to science that will help them expand their knowledge and vocabulary. I would also use a journaling activity because, as the teacher I want to be able to see what my students understand and what they still have questions on. With the journaling, if students have questions that I will want/need to answer.

What I will learn from these formative assessments is what words my students are not familiar with and all that we need to go over and what they mean. The journaling will be more effective for me to learn from the students because I need to know where the students are at and what they are understanding and have questions. If students already knew a lot of information before these lesson, then I will know where everyone is at and where to start at.

Montana Science Standards Fourth Grade: generate and compare multiple solutions to reduce the impacts of natural Earth of natural process on humans.

Grand Challenge: Understanding and Sustaining a Biodiverse Planet

--

--