Ripple rings reveal how long a day lasts on Saturn

Rachel Smith
Grand Challenges in Education
2 min readJan 24, 2019

Ripple Rings Reveal How Long a Day Lasts on Saturn. https://www.sciencenews.org/article/ring-ripples-reveal-how-long-day-lasts-saturn

Standards

develop and use a model to describe the role of gravity in the motions within galaxies and the solar system MS-ESS1–2. NGSS Identifier

I would teach this article in my classroom because it follows the space theme. This article is very interesting because it talks about how Saturn is nine times the size of Earth but the days are only 10 hours long. I would have this lesson student-centered. I would have the students read the article and then discuss it as a class. Students may not know a lot about Saturn so by looking at this article they can gather more information. In the article, there are also links to many more interesting reads about saturn. Students can access this website and then click those links to learn more about the planet.

For this formative assessment, I would learn about students know about Saturn and I will learn what I as a teacher need to go over more or add to the lesson.

Ripple Rings Reveal How Long a Day Lasts on Saturn. https://www.sciencenews.org/article/ring-ripples-reveal-how-long-day-lasts-saturn

Standards

develop and use a model to describe the role of gravity in the motions within galaxies and the solar system MS-ESS1–2. NGSS Identifier

I would teach this article in my classroom because it follows the space theme. This article is very interesting because it talks about how Saturn is nine times the size of Earth but the days are only 10 hours long. I would have this lesson student-centered. I would have the students read the article and then discuss it as a class. Students may not know a lot about Saturn so by looking at this article they can gather more information. In the article, there are also links to many more interesting reads about saturn. Students can access this website and then click those links to learn more about the planet.

For this formative assessment, I would learn about students know about Saturn and I will learn what I as a teacher need to go over more or add to the lesson.

--

--