Volcanoes ready to erupt.

Rachael Swimley
Grand Challenges in Education
2 min readJan 24, 2019

https://www.timeforkids.com/k1/ready-set-erupt/

This is a link to an article from Time for Kids about volcanoes and their characteristics.

I would use this article for young students to explain the Earth’s surface as well as the inner layers. The article will help explain why lava is the way that it is and what it is like coming from the inner surfaces to the outside crust. Then, I would have students look up different volcanoes from around the world. I would do this because most students would think that all volcanoes would be in Hawaii (I know I used to think that)and we need to teach them that there are more around the world. Especially if we live in Montana and or Wyoming where we have the Yellowstone Caldera. I would also use books for students to read. Or, that I would read for them so that they can get a lot of ideas of how they would want to research for a project.

Montana Standard: Second Grade

Earth and Space Science:

Use information from several sources to provide evidence that Earth events can occur quickly or slowly

This is the best standard to use for this lesson because volcanoes can be quick, at any minute. Volcanoes can also be slow and predictable.

A possible misconception that students can get from the article would be that volcanoes erupt all the time. After reading the article I thought that the authors were making it very clear that volcanoes erupt all the time. Though this is not true. I do not know of how many volcanoes have erupted in my lifetime but it has not been that many. I want to make sure that my students know that a volcano erupting is a rare occurrence.

--

--

Rachael Swimley
Grand Challenges in Education
0 Followers

UMW student studying to be an Elementary Ed teacher.