Winter Blues

Rachael Swimley
Grand Challenges in Education
1 min readJan 30, 2019

This article explains to children, and adults what SAD is. SAD is Seasonal Affective Disorder where people become more depressed, moody, etc. in the winter seasons. This is mostly because of how little light (vitamin D) that people receive. I think this is something that is super important to teach in schools so students can see the signs in their friends.

I found another article that I think would help teach about SAD. This is really written a little bit more simply so that students and parents, as well, can fully understand.

I would also want to bring an actual psychologist into the classroom and have them present and also have them lead a discussion with the students so that they know the exact science about it.

I would then have students get into small groups and discuss the signs and come up with ways to post it around the school. I think it is really important that the students feels good about what they are learning and sharing the knowledge with the school I think is a good thing.

--

--

Rachael Swimley
Grand Challenges in Education
0 Followers

UMW student studying to be an Elementary Ed teacher.