Founder Spotlight: Dama Dipayana, Manatee

Kelly Wiarda
Grand Ventures
2 min readJun 7, 2023

--

We always enjoy a chance to catch up with our Portfolio Company CEOs and hear the story behind their companies. For this next installment of our “Founder Spotlight”, we had the pleasure of chatting with Damayanti Dipayana, the CEO and Co-Founder of Manatee.

How would you describe Manatee?

Mental health for today’s family. We give virtual therapy, coaching and digital tools to help families and kids solve whatever challenges they are facing.

What motivated you to start Manatee?

My brother passed away due to mental health issues and violence when I was 23 years old, which was the initial catalyst behind starting Manatee. But it became really clear that I wanted to build the best family care model when I became a parent of 3 awesome kids myself.

What has surprised you about Manatee?

How hard and easy it is at the same time. Starting a company is the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but because it’s an amazing problem to work on, it’s actually really easy to just keep going.

What gets you out of bed in the morning? What keeps you up at night?

Kids who are sad. Parents who are at their wits end… those are the things that get me out of bed every day, but also my team. I just love working with them. Lots of stuff keeps me up at night, but if I had to pick one… it would be the fear of a family having a really bad experience with our services and care.

What has been your biggest struggle/learning as a founder?

To be ok with not having all the answers. To make decisions with conviction and to not get distracted by others.

What’s next for your company?

World domination.

Now for some fun questions…

What do you do on Sunday afternoon?

Beat my husband at golf.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

A fighter pilot or a hitman.

What is something few people know about you?

I am a massive softie. I cry at EVERY SINGLE movie. And if someone else is sad, I just cry with them :)

Where was your last best vacation?

Somewhere in between playing golf in Scotland or laying at the pool in Santorini. God I sound like an awful human..

To learn more about the work Dama and her team at Manatee are doing visit their:

--

--