Why I Joined Grand Ventures

Erica Klenz
Grand Ventures
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2022

If you had told me four years ago that I would be working in venture capital, I would have laughed at you. I had just started my first full-time post-college job at Steelcase working in research, strategy, and innovation. Over the course of four years, I led multiple projects from conducting user experience research for a new product, designing a process to increase efficiency in innovation project cycles, developing categories strategies, collaborating and developing a product with a startup, and leading the diligence and deal processes for mergers and acquisitions.

Through my experience at Steelcase, I recognized that my work was most interesting when it directly impacted companies and helped them grow, whether it looked like research and product development or by direct investments. But I was truly intrigued by the art of valuing companies — seeing their potential and imagining how they could grow over time. It wasn’t until I started reflecting more on why venture capital appealed to me, did I realize that seeing potential in businesses is in my DNA.

One day in the mid-late 1960’s, my grandpa was coming home from his travel sales job. A drunk driver t-boned his car, the impact throwing him out of the car and onto the side of the road. While he luckily walked away from the accident, the effects of the trauma would stay with him for the rest of his life. When he received a small settlement for the accident, he planned to pay off the mortgage and eliminate the financial pressures a family of five often faces. Instead, his friend suggested that he invest the settlement in a new company he was starting that would manufacture diecast machines. My grandpa decided to invest.

I don’t think my grandpa realized that he was participating in a “friends and family” round at the time. Regardless, he evaluated the management team and put his trust in his friend to pursue his dreams and build a company. He wasn’t a Venture Capitalist in the traditional sense, but he saw potential for a company where others didn’t.

Venture is an exciting place to be. VCs are at the forefront of disruptive technologies with the most innovative and intelligent entrepreneurs. They’re evaluating the teams and technologies that could change the future and often look for potential where conventional investors don’t. I wanted to participate in that and knew Venture Capital was going to be the right place to be.

VC roles are hard to come by, especially in Grand Rapids, MI. After all, in 2021 there were only 81 Venture Capital professionals in all of Michigan. So, when the opportunity to join Grand Ventures arose, I had to jump on it. At Grand Ventures, I get to work with experienced partners, invest in companies in my own backyard or in emerging markets, and imagine where these companies will take us in the future. My first few weeks at Grand Ventures have already exceeded my expectations and I’m excited for what comes next in this adventure.

--

--