Better Done Than Perfect

Brandon Moore
Graphic Language
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2024

--

You’ve probably heard the phrase “Better done than perfect”, likely in the context of art or design.“Just get the project out the door. Stop trying to be perfect”. It’s synonymous with another saying: “Good enough for government work”. Good enough. That’s the implication, that time is the most valuable asset and design is worth more (or better) when done faster.

Is it, though? Is this approach even a desirable one for client or creator?

I say no.

I’m not against breaking the chains of perfectionism, but this phrase has never set well with me as something to live by. I don’t want to shove something out the door just to have it be done, or deliver weak work that needed more time. That’s not valuable to the client nor is it interesting to me. It is simply delivering less. Something I often tell my clients on branding projects if they’re pushing for a tight deadline is:

I know you want to launch as soon as possible, but you don’t want to get to the end of this thing and realize you should have spent more time on it to get it right. If it’s rushed, you’re not going to be happy with it. If we do it right, it’s going to be better and last a long time.”

Over the course of 15 years, I’ve developed a process for identity and logo design that I feel great about. Because it’s backed up with success and when it starts to deviate, the work cracks. Trust the process, as they say.

In fairness, I suppose “Better done than perfect” isn’t to be taken so literally but rather as motivation to complete a task. Still, I think this phrase inspires one to be blase’, or careless in their craft. When I hear it said, I don't see that person as being a realist. It often feels like they don't care—and I wonder if it's something they’d ever say around a client.

Craftsmanship matters to me. I don’t feel that makes me a perfectionist. I also wonder, is there a misconception here about craft? Do people think good craftsmanship is equal to perfection? Perfectionism is crippling because it’s unachievable, we’re really talking about design competence and maybe project management here.

Another thing that matters to me is giving clients the most interesting work I am capable of making. To create work that is considered “good enough” and done as quickly as possible is not something I care for at all. It’s perfectly fine to approach design as a craftsperson or artist. There is a need and desire for that kind of work and if you can do it well, it keeps you out of the race to the bottom by competing on low prices and speed.

To me, “better done than perfect sounds” like a duct tape solution. Like something is broken.

It sounds like the antithesis of design.

--

--