Unity Or Naw?

Brandon Moore
Graphic Language
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2019

--

Graphic Design criticism is at an odd place. Mostly, it’s non existent, and is well behind architecture criticism which has respected critics writing in publications like the New York Times. Most of what might be considered a form of Graphic Design criticism are discussions had on twitter between Designers themselves and most of that is just snarky assholes dunking on logos. Design criticism very rarely breaks the bubble of the Design community but if it did, the general public might be appalled at what they see so, we Graphic Artists are not even ready for the “big time” and more public facing discussion on the role and importance of what we do. We have some shit we need to straighten out first.

For one, we need to treat each other with more respect and build a supportive, respected community. I’ve never (at least I don’t think I have) made personal criticisms of Designers. Ive always been very intentional to keep critique about the work itself but even then, I’ll admit I’ve been harsh in doing so and that it probably doesn’t help in building a respected industry. Others do get personal and thats a bigger problem. We’re in a time where theres not much thought in Design commenting and what people are really interested in is slamming their industry peers. And I’m not saying that doesn’t have its place, because there’s all kinds of bullshit that needs to be checked, but when talking about the work itself, do we really need to insult the intelligence, skills, and work ethic of those who made it?

Still, it’s a tall ask, right? Because what I’m really suggesting here is an industry of rebels, misfits and social outcasts—the weird art kids— be Professional. So much of what makes people creative and forward-thinking is the very lack of Professionalism and manners. Its a disdain for status quo. Thankfully, the biggest figures and leaders in our industry like Draplin, Millman, and Bierut do carry themselves well as Professionals so not all hope is lost but, I believe we need more of those people. They can’t be the exceptions to the industry.

I’m a Libertarian (left leaning, thanks), so I’m not one to tell others what to do or not do. I don’t want to censor anyone. I’m just asking, can we try harder to be better about the way we talk to each other and make the Graphic Design community one that deserves the reverence we all want?

The larger point of this article is to make a public declaration myself that I’m trying to be better about the comments and articles I write online. Now, I don’t believe it actually furthers Design critique to not discuss the things that are not well Designed or be blindly positive, but we definitely need a break from negativity and to work on our industry image. Perhaps the ugly Design stuff is more suitable for discussion in the closed quarters of conferences and coffee shops?

Henceforth, I’m trying to focus on what I love about Design, what makes it great, and why it works well in any of my public facing statements in the most honest, truthful way I can. I want to be more supportive of Designers and the work they’re doing, if only by ignoring what I can’t support. I believe improvements can really be made and a community of like-minded people can thrive; even online. I believe, because the best community I’ve ever been a part of is an online forum (shout out to Guitar Tabs Universe) and I want to build that again.

A complex issue in a complex time, for sure. Im reminded of what Massimo Vignelli said about the future of Graphic Design education and how it rests in the teaching of its history and critique.

He also said this:

“Everybody knows about singers, they know about architects, they know about painters, they know about writers, they know about good doctors, but very few people know about graphic designers. So maybe graphic design doesn’t have the right kind of exposure… But generally speaking, there is very little awareness of graphic design and graphic designers. Even with clients. Do they care about type, what kind of typeface we use, and so on and so forth? Sometimes they do, sometimes they don’t, and maybe it’s better that way” — Massimo Vignelli, 2006

--

--