8 Ways to Worry Less

Aarushi Tewari
Gratefulness.me
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2021
8 Ways to Worry Less

“Worry is a misuse of imagination.”

There are some needle-moving moments in your life that shift your perspective for all days to come. When you find something that you needed but were not pursuing intentionally. The line above gave that moment to me like a soft, guiding light between woods that led me nowhere.

I was searching for quotes to put in our previous post of 30 Most Inspirational Quotes of All Time and happened to stumble upon this gem. These words held me accountable in a way because I love to imagine wonderful things, magical places, fortunate occurrences, but I also worry about useless things. And, I’ve been wanting to ameliorate the way I think. So, this post is as much for me as it is for you. Let’s learn to worry less together.

The first step: Understand what worry is.

To worry means to feel or show fear and concern because we think that something bad has happened or could happen. It is a response to uncertainty. When we ponder over what-ifs and take the liberty of imagining all possible (negative) consequences. When we take our thoughts so seriously that we suffer as if they were true. But, they’re just invalidated hypothetical situations running in a frenzy.

We might never escape all amounts of worry, and that’s okay, but we can recognize which issues are genuine and stop when we take them too far.

So, here are the 8 tips on worrying less with time:

  1. Change your focus
  2. Assess yourself
  3. Reflect on your past
  4. Differentiate problems
  5. Let go of perfectionism
  6. Help someone else
  7. Don’t worry about worrying
  8. Practice positive affirmations

Read the full post here.

--

--