Peggy Sturman
Gratitious Banjo
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2017

--

Grandpa’s are Cool and Know Things

A few years ago Blake Shelton said in a quote that nobody wants to listen to their grandpa’s country music. Well, I happen to think that grandpa’s are cool and like Tyrian Lanister in Game of Thrones they know things!

I’m a newer country music fan. I come from a rock and metal world. A few years ago I happened to catch a review on NPR of Sturgill Simpson’s new record at the time, Metamodern Sounds in Country Music. One listen and I was hooked. Around the same time a friend of mine told me about a singer he was a huge fan of. He said this singer did some really amazing harmonies with his equally talented wife. That singer happened to be Chris Stapleton. This was before Traveller dropped. Between Sturgill an Chris I was hooked. I could not get enough of country music. I have since discovered Cody Jinks, Ward Davis, Whitey Morgan, Paul Cauthen, Tyler Childers and Colter Wall to name a few. With that being said I’ve come to realize there is so much country music I have not heard and do not know. I did not grow up listening to country music. How I wish I had a grandpa to recommend me some great country music. And so an idea was born. Half inspired by Blake’s quote and half inspired by Julie Powell who for a year cooked one recipe by Julia Child a day. I plan to listen to one country album a day for a year and write my thoughts about it. I want to listen to old, new, artists I like, artists I think I don’t like and all in between. My goal is to be well rounded and more sophisticated in my knowledge of country music. I invite you to listen along with me.

--

--