From Engineer to Product Manager: Lessons Learned as a Gravel Intern

Fajar Wirazdi
Gravel Product & Tech
4 min readMay 22, 2024

As a seasoned software engineer and IT support professional with over 8 years of experience, I never thought I’d find myself drawn to the world of product management. But after graduating from Apple Developer Academy and Hacktiv8 Coding Bootcamp, I realized my passion for bringing products to life. That’s what led me to Gravel in March 2024 as a Product Manager Intern, and it’s been an incredible ride so far.

In just two months, I’ve learned valuable lessons that go beyond the technical aspects of product development. These insights have teach me the importance of collaboration, open communication, empathy, and adaptability in this fast-paced environment.

From the SalamChat Tribe to Superpowers in Collaboration

My journey began with the SalamChat tribe, where the mantra “Collaboration is key” resonated deeply from day one. It wasn’t just about working together; it was about understanding each other’s strengths and weaknesses. In our brainstorming sessions, I witnessed the magic that happens when diverse skillsets and expertise come together to create something truly remarkable.

This emphasis on collaboration wasn’t just lip service. Early on, I was thrown into the deep end, tasked with understanding the product vision, working with cross-functional teams, and navigating the tech stack. It was overwhelming, but the team’s openness and willingness to help created a safe space for me to learn and grow.

The Power of Clear Communication and Embracing the Unexpected

As I explore deeper, I understand the importance of clear communication. I learned to articulate my thoughts clearly, provide constructive feedback, and ask questions without fear. This open communication boost a sense of trust and transparency within the team.

Of course, things didn’t always go according to plan. There were times when we encountered technical problems that threatened to block our progress. But these challenges turned into valuable lessons in flexibility and prioritization. I remember one instance where the team gather together to find a solution to an unexpected obstacle, and it solidified the importance of adaptability in this dynamic field.

Leveraging My Technical Background as a Product Manager Intern

Having a background in software engineering (Full-Stack) proved invaluable during my internship. Here’s how I bridged the gap between technical development and product vision:

  • Technical Expertise Informs Product Decisions: My understanding of the tech stack allowed me to participate in technical discussions, assess feature feasibility, and make informed product decisions alongside engineers.
  • Facilitating Cross-Functional Collaboration: My experience has made me better at communicating between the product and engineering teams. I could translate technical concepts into user-centric language and vice versa, ensuring everyone was on the same page. This smoothened the development process and ensured features met both technical and user requirements.
  • Identifying Technical Opportunities: Leveraging my technical background, I actively looked for opportunities to improve the product’s technical foundation. I suggested potential integrations with existing APIs or explored new technologies that could enhance user experience or streamline development processes.
  • Building Trust Through Technical Proficiency: My ability to understand and discuss technical aspects of the product earned the trust of the engineering team. This encourage open communication, allowing for earlier identification and resolution of technical challenges.

In essence, my technical background became a bridge between product vision and technical execution. It allowed me to actively contribute to product development, collaborate effectively with engineers, and ultimately, deliver a better product.

Supporting User-Centered Design with Research and Data

Beyond technical expertise, I embraced the opportunity to contribute to the product through user experience (UX) research. I assisted in analyzing user feedback to gain a deeper understanding of user needs and pain points. This focus on user-centered design helped us ensure that the product we were building addressed real user problems.

I’m passionate about user research and eager to learn more about user metrics and data analysis tools like Mixpanel. This data-driven approach, combined with UX research, will ensure our product decisions are informed by user behavior, leading to a product that excels in both functionality and user satisfaction. It aligns perfectly with the SalamChat tribe’s focus on user-centered development.

Looking Ahead: Growth, Gratitude, and Giving Back

As I reflect on my time at Gravel, I’m incredibly grateful for the opportunities to learn and grow. The SalamChat tribe has become like good friends, and I’m constantly motivated by their dedication. This internship has shown me that being a product manager is not just about delivering a product; it’s about building relationships, fostering a sense of belonging, and creating an environment where everyone can thrive.

Looking ahead, I’m excited to take on new challenges, learn from my mistakes, and contribute to Gravel’s continued growth. With the SalamChat tribe by my side, I’m confident that we’ll achieve great things together. In the spirit of the tribe, let’s keep “running together, encouraging each other, and making something amazing happen!”

--

--

Fajar Wirazdi
Gravel Product & Tech

Product Manager | Full-Stack Developer |  Apple Dev Alumni | Lifelong Learner