Happier

Hannah Shuman
Great Colts Come From Great Sires
2 min readApr 28, 2017

Reminiscing on Times Gone By

As you can probably tell from some of these pictures, I used to be the shy kid, sometimes too timid even to smile for the camera. The little girl in these pictures would never be bold enough to stand up for her opinions, or sing for other people; however, throughout the course of a lifetime, that little girl has grown a lot. She’s experienced so many things, gained so much courage, and has finally arrived at the person she is today: someone who is okay to share her song with others, despite its imperfections. Someone who will stand up for what she believes is right, even if it’s scary. Someone who loves her family so much that she’s willing to venture outside her comfort zone in the hope that they might be reunited.

This is the finish line to this marathon of a project. It’s the final piece of my heart that has gone into this portfolio. It’s meant to show my hope for our future through the happy memories of our past. I believe that we must not dwell in the past, or we will miss out on the present and mess up the future; however, we must never let the past be forgotten, because it makes up a huge part of who we are, and there’s a lot we can learn from that part of us.

I have learned so much during the creation of this project, and I know I still have a lot more to learn. I look forward to the adventures ahead while cherishing the memories I’ve left behind, and I thank God each and every day for the family He gave me to accompany me on this great journey we call life.

--

--