The no-code prototype

The concierge-based MVP requires 0 code and is a more stringent test of success.

James Dong
2 min readFeb 26, 2014

Another reason that I focused on learning code so early on was because I had really internalized the need to code an MVP. Then a good friend made me realize that an MVP didn’t have to be developed. As this guide points out, there are multiple types of MVPs: videos, landing pages, Kickstarter types, concierge models, etc.

I decided to do a concierge approach. First, I emailed my friends and ask them to tell me when they needed to borrow something, and then I would ensure they get it for free. Later, I built out a bare bones site with a simple form (can be done without code using a simple Google Form) and asked friends to fill it out if they needed anything. In both cases, I would manually process and fulfill any requests that came through.

Two key benefits of the concierge MVP:

  1. I collected invaluable data about what users wanted every time I helped facilitate a transaction
  2. Because this approach is fundamentally more likely to delight customers based on how personalized it is (i.e., I’m physically delivering goods to people), if it fails, chances are this idea doesn’t have legs since any online version will be less personalized. It is an invalidating MVP. But if it succeeds, you can gradually take away bits of the personalized, concierge approach to identify the core value and what users will pay for.

I do believe there is some value of having a more built out MVP, because then you can attract those early adopters who try anything that looks cool and cutting-edge.

The other note is that it’s possible to have multiple MVPs in test simultaneously. Currently I have the concierge MVP, but also a landing page. I have both because:

  • In a marketplace for occasional-use items, it’s not possible that every person I promote this service to will need it immediately, so I wanted to ensure a way to keep in contact and remind them about the service with periodic updates
  • The two test different things: the landing page helps me test the pitch of the product, while fulfilling a request helps me test the process itself

This blarticle was written in the context of building a product that helps people borrow occasional-use items (e.g., sleeping bags, electric drills) from their friends & neighbors. Check out the prototype here.

--

--

James Dong

Does ‘buying’ have to be the economic bedrock? What are alternative models that are more productive & equitable? Formerly @BainandCompany & @Cal