Finding Inspiration For Your Writing

Ideas Can Come From Anywhere

Michael Bellman
Great Writing Tips

--

“A writer should have the precision of a poet and the imagination of a scientist.” Vladimir Nabokov

You can find inspiration for your writing in many different places. I was at a Rob Thomas (lead singer of Matchbox Twenty) concert last week and I pretty much know all the words to his songs. I’ve been listening to his albums forever.

The longer the concert went on, the more I realized what an amazing writer he is. His lyrics make you feel something. He’s not just a talented musician. He’s a songwriter. Emphasis on the word writer.

That’s how I approach my novel when I’m writing. I want people to react to what I write, to feel the emotion of the characters. That’s the epitome of a great writer.

Where Can You Find Ideas For Writing?

Airports. Think about it. Where else can you find such a wide variety of “characters” from all walks of life? It’s such an incredible place to people watch and come up with ideas for character traits to place in your novel.

Coffee Shops. They’re great because it’s where people go to get work done. In any Starbucks, you’ll see people working on their laptops. Regardless of what they’re doing…

--

--

Michael Bellman
Great Writing Tips

Author of “Nothing Stays Hidden” - a shocking thriller available on Amazon. #1 Dad, According To My Young Sons. https://www.michaelbellmanauthor.com/