4 Reasons Why You Should Start a Blog Today

Sudiksha Joshi, Ph.D.
Greater Impact Writing
3 min readDec 29, 2019
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

Are you wondering what your next steps in your life ought to be?

Do you wonder if there’s more to life than what you day to day looks like and if you have any chance of getting there?

If you answered yes to any or both of those questions then I want to try and persuade you to start a blog today.

“Everyone has something special to offer.

Bravo to those who have found that special something in themselves.

For the rest, Keep dreaming, believing in yourself, and trying out new things…This blog is one such action and commitment to myself.”

This was my first post on January 18, 2015. I had earned my PhD., relocated to a new city and was struggling to find a full-time job. I was questioning everything — even my worth.

Starting my blog, as I look back, was my way to giving myself the permission to tell my own story so that I could move forward in a time when I felt like I needed the permission from someone else to take the next steps forward.

So, today I want to urge you to start a blog.

To convince you to do so, I present you 4 reasons why you should give it a go!

1. What do you have to lose?

If you are at a place like I was back in 2015, waiting for someone else to make a move before you can make yours, you have time, right? Why not use that time to get to know yourself better, sharpen your voice, even allow others to really see you! You don’t need to come clean about your most embarrassing memory or the saddest. But see waiting time takes up a lot of mental energy while writing frees up space for you to start thinking outside the box, creatively.

2. It’s a gift to yourself

When you hear that someone has a blog, you think of these popular blog sites bringing in millions of dollars or one that others rave about and attributed to have changed their lives. If you haven’t heard it from these bloggers, that didn’t happen overnight and many started because they wanted to create, write, and express themselves. Writing a blog is a very personal experience. It really is a gift you give to yourself. Your time, energy, and attention.

3. You might impact someone’s life

You never know who needs to hear your story. Since I started writing, I get hear from people I’ve never met and from people I knew of but I realize I didn’t know them well enough. It’s a gift to know that you have shifted someone’s perspective, widened their understanding, or carried a message they needed to hear.

4. You’ll become a better writer

Well, how about that? Each of us could benefit from becoming a little better at writing. I know you have many ideas in that head of yours. They may be very jumbled at the moment. As you start writing, your ideas will become clearer and crisper and you will come up with even better ideas to write about.

As I started writing, randomly, infrequently, and without any real sense of direction, I saw myself and the world around me with a different lens, sometimes zooming in and other times zooming out. It has been a thrilling ride ever since. I no longer feel the need to wait for the permission from someone else to move forward. When others come along, my speed picks up, I get lifted to new heights, and even at the times I am alone again, I know that I can continue to move forward. That’s a powerful feeling to have.

So ride along with me and share the link to your first blog post in the comment section below, will you?

--

--

Sudiksha Joshi, Ph.D.
Greater Impact Writing

Learning Advocate, advocating for the need to personalize your learning and your life www.wearealwayslearning.com