A #DWAW Recap

The women at Struck celebrated a Day Without A Woman in lots of different ways, so we asked them to tells us about what they experienced and how it helped change their perspective.

Matt Anderson
Struck
7 min readApr 19, 2017

--

Katie Tingey, Designer

I was so impressed by Struck’s enthusiastic participation in the Day Without a Woman movement. I think the cause is so important, but despite being encouraged to stay home that day, going into the office was what I felt most comfortable doing at the time. This is saying something, because I love a good opportunity to make a statement against the patriarchy. But given my circumstances, I didn’t feel that was necessary. I’m really so proud to work for a company that sees gender equality as an important topic. I know it’s not the norm, but watching my fellow Struckers show such support and solidarity gives me hope that it one day will be.

Pauline Ploquin, Chief Relationship Officer

Part of being a woman in business involves showing-up. Showing-up even when your peers and your direct reports are exhibiting obvious gender bias that undermine you. Showing-up for that promotion, even if you are struggling with chronic imposter syndrome. Showing-up for your family and friends even when your sense of responsibilities tells you that you should be in the office.

So the very concept of NOT showing-up was kind of interesting. It was very liberating really. I decided that this was about showing-up for myself (for a change). Because I had to travel for business that day, I decided to carve out some “me time” instead of working from the road. I found a nice place to eat. I had a nice glass of wine and a nice lunch, and I let go of all sense of responsibility for a while. It was more a mental shift. I did this in solidarity with myself. Later that day, I received encouraging messages from male colleagues and it was really moving, that these men had taken some time out of their day to pounder what it might be like to be me. I’m thinking we should have a national day to honor all professional women once a year. What do you say?

Kylie Kullack (kyliem.kullack), Account Director

I spent the morning volunteering at The Road Home in their donation department. While so fortunate to be able to take advantage of the opportunity to not work I felt compelled to give back in some way for those who don’t have that opportunity. The few hours allowed me the opportunity for quiet reflection.

There was some work that needed to be completed in the afternoon, but even then, I was comforted by my male colleagues and clients’ asking why I was working and acknowledging my contribution.

I was also flattered to see my husband wearing red (I never said anything to him about it!) and taking lead of the parental daily duties.

Alexandra Fuller, Creative Director

At first, I’ll admit I didn’t know about the DWAW strike. I had mixed feelings about that particular tactic as a way to celebrate International Women’s Day, so I spent a few days trying not to think about it at all. That never works for long, so eventually I called all the women of Struck together to talk together about our feelings. Others shared my concerns: was DWAW just for women of privilege who could afford to take the day off work? Would the men of Struck understand? We generally feel incredibly supported by Struck leadership and didn’t want the campaign to be perceived as trying to “stick it to management.”

Ultimately, we decided jointly to take the day off and participate in the strike. People tossed out ideas like volunteering as a group at a women’s shelter or all getting together for lunch and conversation. In the end, what people decided to do with their day was entirely personal. My own day was unexpectedly quiet and self-reflective. I woke alone in my house and was brought to tears (before the coffee even kicked in!) by the texts and emails of support from male colleagues. I went to a rare yoga class and listened to a reading about giving voice to one’s own truth. I made a spontaneous lunch meeting with two creative, tough, smart women leaders whom I admire tremendously. I gave my nanny the day off and surprised my kid by picking her up at school. After I explained why I was there, she summed it up: “So all the women of Struck didn’t go to work to show that you think all women should be paid the same as men and treated the same, and to show that you really, really mean it this time.” Pretty much sums it up. She’s seven.

Shawna Harch, Copywriter

Although I admittedly didn’t take the complete day off of work (due to the fact that I was transitioning out of some projects in anticipation of coming on board full-time at Struck), I definitely celebrated in my own way. I dressed my rescue dog in a red jacket and took him for a long walk. I set my Struck out-of-office auto-reply email. I finally got a Muse Membership to support year-round programs and events that inspire women and girls to be advocates for change. I enjoyed tacos and margaritas with three of the most wonderful ladies I know. I read some Mindy Nettifee. Then I went to sleep feeling lucky to be here, now, even though we’ve got some work left to do.

Katherine Cochran, Director of Production

I went on strike for DWAW. I’m one of the lucky women that was able to strike without repercussion and in fact, was celebrated for my choice. All of the men in my life both at work and home rallied around me and took care of what I would normally do. While this is obviously not the norm, hence the reason for the strike, the strike raised awareness about the the inequalities and I’m honored that I was able to strike even for those who couldn’t or chose not to. Even if it brings a small inkling of change, the movement was worth it.

Jaclyn Stiller, Account Director

My ladies, Happy International Women’s Day!

To be honest, I didn’t even know about International Woman’s Day or A Day Without A Woman until the week before. Wow — so many thoughts and feels have gone through my head since then. I haven’t fully known if or how I would participate, and honestly it has been stressing me out in a weird way. My brain went through random thoughts…

“Oh cool a free day off”

“What do I do with this day? Should I go to a rally? Yes, I live in LA!… Ehh I get anxiety in large groups of super passionate and vocal people so maybe that isn’t for me.”

“What is this all about anyhow? I feel supported at Struck and don’t feel the need to stick it to the man…”

“Do I need to have kids to participate in this? I can’t just sit on the couch all day.”

“Oh but I have experienced gender bias in my life, both personally and professionally, is that what this is about?”

“What would I even do all day? Maybe I will go to a yoga class. Is there anywhere I can volunteer? Hmm it is going to be in the 80s at the beach.”

“Is this just a privileged white woman protest?”

Lots of googling, article reading, conversations with many of you and other women (and men) in my life…

When I woke up this morning my heart led me to the office. I”ll probably leave early this afternoon to do something special for myself, maybe a yoga class or reflect on the day’s events while strolling in the sand — but the realization I had when I woke up this morning was that coming into the office is something special that I do for myself and makes me happy. Because of you ladies. Because of our male colleagues. Because Struck is my family. Because the projects we work on together and what we teach each other. Because our executive team supports us. Because I had to leave and come back to see the specialness. Because we are lucky.

I’m with you in solidarity — wearing red (which I also learned I apparently don’t own, coral is my red most days as aFL girl). Andy and I will find a woman-owned business to support for lunch today. We will talk about what women’s day means and what his wife is doing and how he is leaving early to do kid duty (lean in). I’ll be vocal about our cause with our male counterparts and be open to conversation with them today and every day to support us.

Enjoy the day. Much love to you all.

Looking for more insights, facebooking, twittering, ramblings, musings and other thoughts? Follow our Greater Than collection. And, since you made it this far down the page, you might as well hit that sweet Recommend heart. Thanks!

--

--

Matt Anderson
Struck
Writer for

creative leader, future llama farmer. find me (almost) everywhere: @upto12.