My first day back on the job at Struck (insert sign of relief).

The Grass is Not Always Greener

Part 1: Three things to consider before you accept that new job offer

jaclyn.stiller
Published in
4 min readMay 5, 2016

--

Have you ever felt stuck in a rut? Bored at work? Wondering if the grass might be greener on the other side? I have. And I changed jobs to see if the grass was indeed greener. As it turns out…it wasn’t. It was brown actually. Really drought-ridden brown.

So, before you make that change to a new job, here is my cautionary tale.

After almost six years at Struck, I thought it was time for a revamp. A greener pasture, something new. I wanted to use what I learned as a foundation to further my growth. So, I took a leap of faith and accepted a new job at a social advertising agency. Social media, strategy and a big fast food client who was always on the leading edge of social….sounds sexy, right?

I’ll admit, it was scary, I had been with Struck longer than my husband and I had been together! I felt like a child who loved their family, but needed to go off to college in another state or backpack through Europe. So I jumped, head first, into a new company and an area that I knew little about — social media strategy, planning, audience targeting and advertising. I left Struck right before the holidays and a major campaign launch. (Note to everyone — the holidays is also the worst time to start a new job. No one is around, you don’t know anyone at the holiday party. And, all of a sudden when you get back to the office in January, you feel like a deer in headlights).

Within the first two weeks at the social advertising agency I knew it wasn’t for me. I kept telling myself that I needed to give it time and that I had to get through the learning curve. But, deep down, I knew it wasn’t a fit.

Finally, after eleven long weeks, I quit and went back home to Struck. This was a hard and humbling experience for me both professionally and personally. But, I learned a few valuable lessons worth sharing.

  • Cultural alignment is more important than you think. I learned that culture in the workplace is important to me. In fact, when it comes to my career, it might be the most important thing to me. I discovered that I value a work-life balance for both my colleagues and myself. And I want to be part of a culture that fosters an environment where these things exist. I learned how much I value a culture of openness and transparency at every level of the organization — from the administrative assistant to the CEO with an open door policy. When I interview in the future, I will ask these important questions: What stands out to you culturally about this organization? Do your coworkers and the company share your work-life values? How are these values present in company structure and culture? How do those in positions of leadership demonstrate the cultural values of the company? What type of behavior is promoted internally?
  • If you leave, always leave on a good note. Never burn bridges. After realizing that I wanted to go back to Struck, I was able to call the CEO directly to have an open and honest conversation. It was humbling, but there was never any judgment or feeling that I had failed. Everyone welcomed me back with open arms. When leaving a company, be gracious. Think about what you learned from the good situations and the challenging ones. Thank your mentors, bosses and coworkers for all they taught you and the opportunities they provided. Wrap-up your projects and leave things in a good place for your successor. Be available to answer questions that may arise after your departure. And actively stay in touch with your former colleagues and clients.
  • A new job isn’t necessarily the answer. Looking back now, I realize that I was stuck in a rut when I decided to pursue that new job. I should have been open and honest with my Struck family about how I was feeling. It took me leaving, and wanting to come back, to make these conversations happen.

So, if you start to get the itch that a new job might be better, ask yourself why. What it is you are really looking for? Have those hard conversations before decide to jump ship.

Now, I’m happier than I have ever been. The grass is not always greener on the other side — it is greener where you water it.

Check back later on the Greater Than collection for Part Two: Staying positive while combatting the workplace rut.

Jaclyn Stiller is an account director at Struck. She loves the beach and bright colors (she’s from Florida). For random beach photos and pictures of other people’s dogs, follow her on Instagram. Or, head to LinkedIn for her more serious side.

Looking for more insights, facebooking, twittering, ramblings, musings and other thoughts? Follow our Greater Than collection.

--

--

jaclyn.stiller
Struck
Writer for

account director @struck, lover of the beach, bright colors and dogs.