[Practical Self Management Intensive] Week 2 Reflection _Transition to the new work system; (2) Decision Making

Woojung Kim
Greaterthan
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2020

[My Tendency in the Decision Making Process]
If I recall my tendency when trying to make decisions, I am the person who do not have a good technique or strategy. I just tend to rely on gut feeling or intuition based on past experiences. That’s it. Actually, this can be a very practical tool within the time limit. In addition, I feel like being the centre of the world if my intuition would most likely result in a perfect hit. To put it another way, it also means that I might be able to struggle with team collaboration at some point or make an arbitrary decision ignoring the opinions of others. In addition, I might be able to hardly trust myself criticizing/regretting my choice and/or might be down in the mouth resisting my temptations to raise the voice if my decisions turn out to be wrong.

[My Bias]
In fact, I have not believed the democratic decision making process. This is because there always seem to be a person (showing a social superiority) who controls the decision in the last place. For sure, I have had a stereotypical attitude towards a pure participatory democracy.

[Week2 Session Opportunity 1]
In PSM week 2, I had the opportunity to analyze my decision making style based on 9 explanations of decision types ( I never imagined our decision can be specifically categorized, by the way). And, I found myself mostly taking the advice and the emergent decisions. It was also assumed that I took the combination of several decision types when facing more complex situations. As I haven’t thought about my habit in the decision making process before, week2 session gave me the opportunity to consciously control my thinking process .

[Week2 Session Opportunity 2]
When doing the group assignment, we tried to practice the Generative Decision Making using Loomio tool. When we gathered for the first time to discuss about what decision making process we would go for, I felt that all our team members were ready for managing the collaborative work. This was because they all were likely to listen to each other carefully in order to reach common ground. And, some questions and responses were exchanged after the first comment. This made everybody really understand the meeting purpose and agenda and on on. I thought that was a good starting point to encourage the active participation in the team meeting.

[To-Be]
The session leads me to realize the structured analytic way of making the decision. In order to make my decision type remain stable, I might need a habit of practicing in everyday life. Now, I seem to face another big challenge to change myself!

--

--