Project 4 — Week 2: My Personal Mission Statement

Jose Sopeña
Greaterthan
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2017
  1. As an individual, why are you here?

I am here to gain a new perspective on self-management. Having worked as part of 4 different self-managed teams for over a year and a half in Hyper Island enabled me to gain an experiential approach to the enormous potential of this practice in an academic context. In Lead Wise I aim to crystallize my knowledge in this area by learning from experts in the field, exchanging knowledge with fellow colleagues and being coached at different stages.

2. What does a great experience look for me as a participant?

A great experience for me will be achieved by attending weekly sessions and accomplishing project deliveries on time, mostly the group ones which involve self-organizing around different schedules, work loads and, of course, expectations.

Very importantly too, the connections made during the course and building up a support network that keeps its momentum far beyond the course. For instance, a great experience for me would be that, at some point during or after the course, I collaborate on a professional project with fellow colleagues or coaches already dealing with the implementation of self-management inside its own structures, with clients and/ or with students.

3. How does my participation support the mission of this project?

I will make sure I’m available and that I perform the tasks agreed within my team and individual projects, eliciting and giving feedback along the way. Finally, I must book some coaching this week and aim to recruit someone to potentially collaborate with on their current professional challenge.

4. What support do I need to ensure I achieve my personal participation mission?

A lot of curiosity and a desire to harness collective intelligence is what I feel will support me the most, but asking for coaching and coaching each other when we need we feel it the most.

--

--

Jose Sopeña
Greaterthan

Organizational and strategic designer. Researching on human centred design and non-hierarchical work structures