PSM W2 reflections. Pondering my decision making types

Hyeyoung Jeon
Greaterthan
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2020

In this week2, we learned about different decision making types. As a group assignment, we tried to apply a ‘consent based decision’ making method using Loomio.
https://www.loomio.org/p/OJEVrZCG

I’ve heard about Loomio as a very efficient collaboration platform to assist decision making process with groups of people. It was certainly such a brilliant experience to have a chance to finally use Loomio, taking this course PSM! However, one truly important idea that I’ve realized is that the people who we interact with and how we approach is more essential than anything else, like a tool, process or infrastructure. I guess, many alternative tools like Slack, Trello or Notion can be used for online collaboration but it won’t be easy to get outcomes, or even go forward unless people have belief of shared understanding can lead better decisions.

As for individual assignment, I had a chance to think about my decision making tendencies which I had never thought deeply about it, using risk-duration grid on Mural(https://www.mural.co).

Looking back when I made a decision to enroll in this PSM course, I’ve interested in this subject matter, how I can be more proactive and collaborative, not by seeking approvals from the top or waiting for a boss’s directions. I was kind of learning how important active listening and sharing feedback with co-workers since I’ve joined this new organization in social sector but still facing unfamiliar moment time to time. The objective to participate in this course was quite clear to me. Moreover, reliable partner, C dot’s engagement and the early bird discount option was a trigger to me. Therefore, I made a decision to take this course without a great worry at that moment and it seemed quite autocratic to myself. I assumed that PSM course would be middle risk and short duration event when I made a decision to enroll, but now I feel that it’s more of high risk due to highly intensive focus and involvement and middle duration, considering my current workload and the time schedule(should participate in during the office hour even though other colleagues don’t complain or even don’t care about it) which some of this was caused by Covid19 situation, though.

In my workplace, most of decisions are made using integrated decision making process, starting from involving a new project member to deciding the roles and responsibilities on the specific project. In the beginning, it was challenging to me, since I was used to autocratic or consent decision making type but now I appreciate this precious moment of being my turning point.
We also, often use collaborative decision type when we work with business partners.

Finally, regarding my family/personal occasions, I tend to make a decision based on rational or logical reasons considering the goals or responsibilities rather than thinking about how I want to do or why I do, etc. Decision types that I take seem to be diverse. I tend to delegate a role to my husband when it comes the matter of parents-in-laws’ and give advice when other family members are supposed to make decisions.

Moving forward, I hope that I could have more chances to adopt more decentralized decision types to several aspects of my life, even though it takes longer time and more energy at the beginning. Now I have some sense of it can guarantee at least, having the process is worthwhile.

--

--