PSM W3 reflections. Pursuit of a single goal; business excellence and personal development in DDOs

Business can be an ideal context for people’s growth

Hyeyoung Jeon
Greaterthan
3 min readMay 17, 2020

--

An Everyone Culture, becoming a DDO

Weakness Is a Potential Asset; Error is an Opportunity

<An Everyone Culture>

Joing this current organization, GingerTproject , I could have experienced
a type of Deliberately Developmental Organization(DDO) for the first time
in my life which I’ve had no idea about the concept of DDOs at all, though.
At first, I should have faced such a puzzling time to figure out how to go through tough time since there’s no guidelines or orders from a boss.

Being invited to check-in every Monday morning, I had a chance to share my personal interest, family matters, and feeling that I’ve rarely fully presented in workplace before. Also, I could listen to colleagues’ not only challenges at work but also private interior life. It was not like a typical weekly update meeting in a company. It was more of a safe and warm community and no one works a 2nd job of hiding imperfections. Now, checking out became my important ritual at the end of any meeting, somewhere along the line, without a detailed manual.

Participating this PSM course, I’ve been familiar with some concepts which I’ve never learned at school or in my previous hierarchical organization. In this week, the book <An Everyone Culture> was a lovely surprise for me since we’ve studied this book in the current organization early this year. I would say that reading this book was a moment of realizing for me how this new organization wants to be shaped. GingerTproject lives the value of ‘learning community’. That’s why GingerTEAple(GingerTproject+people) always ask ‘what’s working and what’s not working well’ and expect to expose issues by exploring one’s consciousness and weakness. Real growth can be only gained with first experiencing some limitations at one’s core, they think.

Adaptive Leadership, changing your organization and the world

Reframe the Group’s Default Interpretations
Think Hard About Your Framing
Create a Holding Environment
Build an Adaptive Culture
Institutionalize Reflection and Continuous Learning
Broaden Your Bandwidth
Discover Your Tolerances
Integrate Your Ambitions and Aspirations
Lean Into Your Incompetence
Get Permission to Fail
Speak from the Heart
Display Your Own Incompetence

<The Practice of Adaptive Leadership>

The above sentences are excerpt from the table of contents. The DDO concept reminds me of these articulations from the book <Adaptive Leadership> which my organization has translated and published Korean version of it.
‘Default Interpretations’ to me was like the most efficient and proven way of solving problems in the organization, having no link with myself. However, I’m getting to be used to show my weakness not only to develop myself but to give other members in community a chance to help me for business growth as an ultimate goal. And I know it’s working well in a safe organization with ‘holding environment’.

Tools and tactics for deliberately development

This week, we learned about four fields of listening and I tried to create my ITC map to become my best self. It was a process to become “a better me” but not easy to create at first.

Starting from identifying a personal growth goal, I listed some behaviors and then named my fears and worries. Last, noted down core beliefs as a Big Assumption.

<my Immunity to Change map>

Designing my ITC map was a valuable practice for me but still I need more reflections on my test results to become better version of me.

--

--