Roles X Job description

Felipe Amaral
Greaterthan
Published in
2 min readMar 19, 2018

The first assignment of the program was to create a company and come up with at least 20 roles for the organization. My group used for the assignment one of the participants company called Signage. This were the roles that we created: artist, marketer, dealer, tech, creator, banker, pioneer, facilitator, sprayer, CNC, estimator, woodworker, metalworker, account manager, illuminator, printer, traveler, law-maker, coach and organizer.

For each one of the roles we created a purpose, accountability and a metric. It was hard to create so many rules inside a small company like Signage.

I learned from the assignment that we tend to create a job description based on the employer that had that position and not based on the real needs of the company. In my personal experience, as I step out of the company I founded , I had similar challenges. I made a list of the activities that I used to do as an executive. I just realized that the list was not based on roles, in fact it was just a job description based on my work and not on what the company really needed.

With these new perception, I will be careful when creating my new company and defining the roles based on the organization and not on the person that will do the work.

--

--