Alumni Spotlight: Heather Monatt gives back as a mentor with Mentors in Tech

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers
4 min readFeb 1, 2024

Meet Green River College graduate Heather Monatt (Class of 2022). After completing her bachelor’s degree in Software Development at Green River, Heather joined Costco IT as a Product Owner. She has a passion for helping others and now volunteers with Mentors in Tech (MinT), mentoring college students in the same pathway of study she once traveled.

In the Q & A below, Heather talks about her role as a MinT mentor, emphasizes the importance of empowering mentees to think independently, and highlights the reciprocal learning that occurs in a mentor/mentee relationship. Drawing from her personal experiences, she also describes how she encourages students to build a supportive community and push through adversity.

What is your current job title at Costco? And can you briefly describe what you do in this role?

HEATHER: My current job title at Costco is IT Product Owner. My team specifically focuses on managing the gateways for APIs that run through DataPower, Apigee, or APIM.

I am the liaison of communication between other teams within Costco (stakeholders) and my development team. I make sure that my team has all the information they need in order to do their work, keep track of timelines through coordination with our stakeholders, communicate with executive leadership on progress of initiatives, and also protect my team whenever necessary through Agile processes.

Can you talk about your role with Mentors in Tech? What do you do as a mentor?

HEATHER: My role as a mentor for Mentors in Tech is to get my mentees to have the freedom to think for themselves. Ultimately, that is my goal. I am there to support and guide them to the possibilities and get them to think.

Currently, I am working with my mentees on their resumes, LinkedIn profiles, and cover letters so that they feel more confident in applying for internships and jobs. It wasn’t that long ago when I was where they are now, and I think back to what I thought would’ve been helpful to me back then, and bring that to our sessions.

I also check in with them to see if there is anything they want to put into the agenda with specific questions they may have. I love when they come with questions and an agenda. These meetings are for them! They should have the autonomy to drive if they choose to.

Both of my mentees are driven to succeed and it has been quite enjoyable to work with them thus far. It’s an exciting time for them both and I’m honored to bear witness to their growth and successes.

What do you enjoy about mentoring students?

HEATHER: I truly enjoy talking to folks. As much as I hope my mentees learn from our discussions, I am always learning from them. Mentoring is a two-way street. I certainly don’t have all the answers. I can only speak to my own experience and I think what makes mentorship a beautiful thing is that we can always learn from each other. My experience is 100% different from the next person. So I am always learning from everyone I meet.

I love to help people in whatever way I can. Whether that’s through a conversation, building connections/community, networking, or just actively listening to an individual. Holding space for the students and helping them in ways that I know will be beneficial is fulfilling. As mentioned previously, I was in their shoes at one point, so whatever I can do to give back, I’m all in.

What advice do you have for students who are facing adversity and barriers to success?

HEATHER: I WAS THERE ONCE!!! I remember crying during office hours many times!! But, I didn’t give up. One thing that helps is building a community or support system around you. It takes a village, and that village can one day help you get a job!

It is said that the most difficult challenges in life sometimes bring the greatest rewards. I can attest to that! Coming from someone who worked 3 jobs simultaneously to just barely live, working in this industry is life changing!! I recently came across a book called 212: The Extra Degree by Sam Parker & Mac Anderson. In the book, they say that at 211 degrees, water is hot. At 212 degrees, water boils, which produces steam that can power a machine. Seemingly small things can make tremendous differences. One degree of effort can change everything.

So keep pushing, there is light at the end of the tunnel, and always remember, “To get what we have never had, we must do what we have never done.” Godspeed.

Learn more about Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) in Software Development at www.greenriver.edu/software.

Every BAS Software Development student at Green River College has the opportunity to be paired with two industry mentors for structured mentoring thanks to partnership with Mentors in Tech (MinT). Learn more at www.mentorsintech.com.

--

--

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers

All the latest stories on Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) in Software Development