Alumni Spotlight: Husrav Homidov talks life as an IT project manager at Virtudesk

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers
2 min readJan 3, 2023
Green River College graduate Husrav Homidov

Meet Husrav Homidov (Class of ‘22). After completing his bachelor’s degree in Software Development at Green River College, Husrav joined Virtudesk as an IT project manager and full stack developer. In the Q & A below, he talks about his multifaceted role and stresses the importance of networking when it comes to landing a job in tech.

What led you to Green River’s Software Development program?

HUSRAV: I started studying at Green River College when I just arrived in the U.S. When I was close to completing my associate’s degree I found out that GRC offered a bachelor’s program in Software Development. That was perfect for me because I truly loved this college and decided to get my undergraduate degree here.

What is your job title at Virtudesk? And can you tell us a little bit about your role?

HUSRAV: My official role is “IT Project Manager.” However, since I demonstrated that I have coding skills, I’ve been doing a lot of work doing web development as well. It might sound weird for folks in bigger corporations, but in a smaller company, you get to do multiple jobs if desired.

Besides doing my PM responsibilities, such as planning and organizing projects, and communicating with teams in different departments, I am also responsible for a lot of web projects. I work with cloud technologies, mainly AWS. I use React, PHP, JS, and many other libraries to maintain current projects and build new ones.

I believe the fact that I’m doing two different roles should help me in my future career paths.

What career advice to you have for college students who are looking to break into tech?

HUSRAV: I get that tech jobs can seem tempting with top salaries, benefits, and flexibility, but it is very important to be into what you’re doing. If you do enjoy it, then landing a job is a matter of time, and comes down to consistency and most importantly, networking. Knowing people in the field can be very beneficial. Keep applying and going to those interviews with confidence, no matter how many times you already failed.

Learn more about Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) in Software Development by visiting www.greenriver.edu/software

--

--

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers

All the latest stories on Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) in Software Development