Meet Aspen Institute, Siemens Technical Scholar Sarah Mehri

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers
3 min readMar 4, 2021

Meet Green River College student, Siemens Technical Scholar, and Mentors in Tech participant Sarah Mehri. After moving to the United States, Mehri, who has a background in Business Administration, decided to pursue her dream of a career in tech and enrolled in Green River’s applied baccalaureate program in Software Development.

In addition to earning her bachelor’s degree at Green River, Mehri is participating in Mentors in Tech (MinT), a new social good venture for CS students founded by Kevin Wang. She is also a recipient of an Excellence and Equity Community College STEM scholarship made possible by The Aspen Institute and Siemens Foundation.

Hi Sarah. What led you to Green River’s applied baccalaureate program in Software Development?

SARAH: Before moving to the USA and starting my academic journey at Green River College, I studied Business administration. I was in my third year of my bachelor’s degree, and after a while, I realized that I didn’t enjoy this path and knew that I was in the wrong track.

Sarah Mehri

I was new in the USA, having two kids, and wanted to continue my education. It was hard for me to manage everything. But I was motivated, which helped me through the struggle.

In any academic journey, it is important to know yourself and your talents. So, I decided on pursuing my interest in, and enthusiasm for, software development. I will never forgot what my instructors at Green River College said: “Do what you enjoy!”

The instructors and staff at Green River are very supportive. They helped me overcome academic challenges. I was amazed how they tried their best to understand every student. Now I can say, YES, I am in the right spot, and I really enjoy learning coding. A special thanks to all my instructors and our program manager, who helped me find my path.

How is a scholarship from the Aspen Institute and Siemens Foundation helping you achieve your goals at Green River?

SARAH: When I was awarded this scholarship, it provided massive motivation to learn more, to study more, and to achieve more. The Aspen Institute and Siemens Technical Scholarship held not only a material meaning to me, but a spiritual meaning as well. Now that I am a part of this scholarship program, my instructors are counting on me to excel in a community college STEM pathway.

You are also participating in Mentors in Tech (MinT) this year. Can you tell us about your experience as a MinT mentee?

SARAH: My industry mentors have so much experience and are great motivators. They help answer questions about how to prepare for a new career and talk about what their job cultures and environments are like. They also give students great tips on everything from career building, interviewing, how to network, book recommendations, and more.

Learn more about Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science in Software Development by visiting www.greenriver.edu/software.

Learn more about Mentors in Tech (MinT) by visiting www.mentorsintech.com.

Green River College is a winner of the Excellence and Equity in Community College STEM Award made possible by the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program and the Siemens Foundation. Read the full press release at www.greenriver.edu/gator-news/articles/grc-wins-national-award-for-outstanding-stem-education.

--

--

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers

All the latest stories on Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) in Software Development