Student Spotlight: Katherine Watkins talks life as a software engineering intern at Paylocity

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers
2 min readAug 23, 2023

Meet Katherine Watkins. Katherine is pursuing her bachelor’s degree in Software Development at Green River College and is interning this summer as a software engineer at Paylocity, an HR and payroll software company. In the Q & A below, she talks about her experience as an intern and offers some helpful career tips for college students who are looking to break into tech.

What led you to Green River’s Software Development program?

KATHERINE: I chose Green River’s software development program because the project-based curriculum really accommodates my learning style, and it was a more affordable option for a bachelor’s degree.

What is your job title at Paylocity? And can you tell us a little bit about the kinds of projects you are working on?

KATHERINE: I am a Software Engineering Intern on the Tax Compliance team. Currently, I’m working on optimizing some API end points and look forward to also working on a new feature in the Paylocity suite.

What was the hiring process for your internship like?

KATHERINE: The process started with a phone interview with a talent acquisition partner. Then I had a take home quiz to show my skills. Lastly, I had a second interview which consisted of a technical interview and a behavioral interview. I know for a lot of students the technical interview can be scary but they really went out of their way to put me at ease. The technical questions went over the take home quiz so it wasn’t too intimidating.

What is the culture at Paylocity like?

KATHERINE: Paylocity has the best culture of any employer I’ve worked for. It starts with our CEOs who are very down to earth and prioritize employee well-being. It’s a large company, with over 6,000 employees, but feels like a close knit community. When I started on the Tax Compliance team, I had a lot of support from coworkers and I know I can ask for help whenever I need it.

Do you have any career tips for college students who are interested in applying for an internship at Paylocity?

KATHERINE: My advice is to have multiple people look over your resume. Make sure you are adding any project experience on there. Beyond that, just be yourself in the interview. Paylocity really fosters an environment where you can (and are encouraged to) bring your whole self to work.

Learn more about Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) in Software Development by visiting www.greenriver.edu/software.

--

--

Green River Devs
Green River Web & Mobile Developers

All the latest stories on Green River College’s Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) in Software Development