Because you can’t not

Jessica Green
Green Trails
Published in
3 min readNov 22, 2017
Looking out at the Alhambra from the Generalife courtyard windows

You can’t go to Granada and not visit the Alhambra. So I did that today.

I found out that even though tickets were “sold out” for the week, they release a limited # of same-day tickets after midnight, which you can buy online. So I stayed up sipping Jameson at a bar called Bronx until I could buy my ticket.

A huge thank-you to the helpful ticket lady who gave me the hot tip! It seems that most visitors don’t know about this trick and just stand in long lines unnecessarily.

Even though jet lag+ whiskey = three hours of sleep, I managed almost four hours of strolling through the storied and restored courtyards, palace rooms, gardens, watchtowers, and creepy underground dungeons.

To be quite honest, that four hours included a break for French fries, coffee, and a load off the feet. I’m not in my 20s anymore, people, and even though I had to battle aggressive sparrows to eat my papas fritas, I wouldn’t have made it out alive otherwise.

I got this.

Listening to my auto-guia recording as I jostled around the place with tourists from all over the world, the coexistence of beauty and prayer with murder, exile, and war feels as uncomfortable and relevant today as ever.

Looking out over the city from the fortress.

Quite honestly, my favorite parts of the Alhambra were outside where I could bask in the sun with lots and lots of kitties, take in expansive views of the city, watch the interplay of fountains and plants, and feel alive. I finished the tour wondering, “Why do people pay extra and stand in a long line to visit the Palacio Nazaries?” That stumped me.

For this fruit-lover, the highlight of my tour might have been finding the granada in Granada.

I was happy to trudge back to my cozy little apartment, take a (very!) hot bath, and eat my first tostado con jamón y queso (toasted baguette with prosciutto and melted sheep’s cheese) with my sister at her favorite café, El Higo, which is worth a visit.

I can practically see my apartment from the Alhambra. I’m coming for you, bathtub.

Oh, and Pat arrives tomorrow! I can’t wait to see that guy.

--

--