Humor

Baron Samedi, the Transgender Voodoo Deity, is Acting Awfully Similar to Ezra Miller

Dr. Folklore’s Dating Advice for Mythical Folks (Number 77)

Kegan Witzki
Greener Pastures Magazine
3 min readJun 30, 2022

--

Illustration by Simon Eckert

Origin Story: In Voodoo, Baron Samedi is the God of the graveyards and sexuality, and leader of the Ghedes and Barons. They are depicted as a bisexual dandy (or occasionally transgender), wearing a top-hat and frock coat along with women’s skirts and shoes. Samedi has a tendency toward “lascivious movements” that cross gender boundaries and has a lust for anal sex. They’re loosely inspired the character of Dr. Facilier in The Princess and the Frog.

Ezra Miller is a Hollywood actor who, as of this date, is going through a plethora of controversial actions.

Dear Dr. Folklore,

As a gender fluid New Orleans deity, I’m sick and tired to these traditional-thinking ghosts within my graveyard acting like they’re better than me. They prefer healthy partnerships, whereas I prefer manipulating my human lovers through the magic of Star Power (they like it when I call them by their pet name, Fans).

I’ll admit, I have faults — stealing credentials as a house guest, tackling a “hetero” playing darts, grooming a 12 year old, throwing chairs, and yelling at women singing “Shallow” in…

--

--