Humor

Born to Business with David Business, LinkedIn Warrior №21: Time Off

See You Soon, Warriors

David Business
Greener Pastures Magazine

--

Image via Lukas Kloeppel

Dear Fellow Business Nuts,

I have been “let go” from my job at Jungle Hank’s Cantina. Over the past twenty-plus weeks, I have written numerous articles touting the value of staying strong in the face of adversity, but it is not easy being ejected from an operation. According to my manager, the theme restaurant “no longer needed a digital innovation strategist” because “we’re not even sure what you do for us.” They kept saying “ We’re not a tech company, David.” Not a tech company? Ok, so I guess those animatronic tigers move via magic?? I’m so sick of organizations with limited vision, putting comfort before disruption. From my time as a Toppings Supply Chain Manager at Subway to a Financial Analyst at Busch Gardens, I have consistently pushed companies forward with vigor. I see myself as a metaphorical father tossing a child into the pool before they know how to swim. Someone needs to do it, might as well be me. But being a maverick takes its toll. You will constantly be questioned and routinely fired. And when that happens, it’s important to take some time to yourself.

And so, I have rented a cabin in Washington for the next month or two, where I plan to blast Tony Robbins and eat nothing but Soylent. A literal cleansing of mind, body, and soul. I will of course bring along my glue stick, magazines, scissors, and poster board to envision my next steps. I know it is a long shot, but I’d love to be CEO of something. To finally sit on top of the horse instead of being trampled beneath it. But whatever I can get will work.

Thank you for your loyal patronage, I’ll see you in a little bit.

#DISRUPTYOURSELF

Love,
David Business

--

--

David Business
Greener Pastures Magazine

Business is more than my passion, it’s my name. LinkedIn Warrior and Management Theory Freak. Close personal associate of comedy writer Kenny Gray.