HUMOR

Heads-Up That My Religion Will Be Discriminating Against You

It’s nothing personal, but I have to hate you now

James Klein
Greener Pastures Magazine
3 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Licensed from Shutterstock Images

Hey buddy, how’s it going? Just a quick note to let you know that my religion is going to be discriminating against you. Sorry about that. You’re a nice guy and all, but my faith requires I treat you as terribly as possible from now on.

It’s not even your fault. I mean, you didn’t choose to have dimples. Did I mention that? It’s your dimples. The wisest zealots of my faith believe that dimples are a mark of demonic possession. I heard about it at our house of worship on Thursday, which is the correct sacred day of the week, and not Sunday or Sabbath or whatever you dimpled monsters believe. That’s when I learned that dimples are caused by the devil grabbing your face when he sucks your soul out of your body, which kind of makes sense if you believe things like that.

It’s too bad, as we’ve been friends since high school, but my religion’s infallible leaders have decided that you’re a subhuman abomination.

It’s not enough for people of my faith to hate you — everyone else must too. That’s why we’re using the legal system to further discriminate against you, and all the other dimpled mutants. We are asking the courts to grant us an exclusion from…

--

--

James Klein
Greener Pastures Magazine

My dog thinks I’m cool. Humor in McSweeney’s, Slackjaw, Points in Case, Greener Pastures, and others. All of it at jameskleinhumor.com.